Recipe: Another “Mexican” Coffee

Mexican food is by far my favourite food, along with curries and the factor that unites then both (besides being incredibly unhealthy) is the wide use of spices. I’m a big fan of spicy food and after trying some dark chocolate with chilli it got me thinking about combing coffee with my favourite Mexican flavours for a bit of fun one afternoon.

As a keen cook, I like to think I know what I’m doing with spices but from experience I know they can be a pain in the arse to get right. Luckily (and after 3 or 4 attempts) I’m confident that I’ve got the quantities nailed.

I like to make this using the AeroPress but you can use any method you like to brew your coffee, you just need approximately 280ml (≈10 oz) of brewed coffee.

Ingredients:

  • Ground coffee
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1⁄2 teaspoon chilli powder
  • 1⁄4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1⁄4 cup double cream
  • 1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tablespoon icing sugar

Equipment:

  • AeroPress or another coffee brewing method
  • Measuring spoons
  • Small whisk
  • Small mixing bowl
  • Preheated mug
  • Spoon

Method:

(This is my AeroPress method)

  1. Using the inverted method, add your coffee and spices to the chamber of the AeroPress and brew using a 20 second bloom and a 1min 20s steep then press into your cup
  2. Either whilst it is steeping or after you’ve pressed your coffee, whip together the cream, cocoa powder and icing sugar until your have some lovely stiff peaks
  3. Once the cream is all whipped up, mix a little into your coffee to your taste and then top your coffee with a thick layer of it
Leave a Reply

